top of page

Break Out of Education & Into Corporate: Rock Your Resume

Updated: Mar 31, 2022

The most common question and requests I get from teachers and former colleagues trying to transition from education is "Can you look at my resume?" I'll do you one better... I'll give you my secret formula. Interested? Scroll on!



There are a lot of different things you can do to help improve your chances at a transition, but let's start with just this one:


Resume tips, tricks, & advice for teachers


There are tons of great resources on how to create a beautiful resume. I personally used Canva. And there are also lots of amazing examples out there on the internet. However! My resume creation advice is specifically aimed toward teachers who want to break into corporate. So, without further ado, here we go:


Typically in a resume, the largest part of the resume is taken up by your employment history with a list of bullet points for what you achieved in that role. The truth is that, because of the formatting, the main thing the reader sees is your list of positions and sometimes they don't even read those bullet points. Sadly, for many people in the corporate world, a job as a teacher with a long list of bullet points won’t be impressive.

My suggestion? Flip the script and make the biggest portion of your resume your skills list & certifications. There's no rule that says the usual format is the best format. I recommend that instead of listing out each job, (1) list your skills where the job experience goes and (2) for each skill, give bullet points on what you have done in that skill that proves your abilities in it. Here's the thing. As a teacher, you have TONS of marketable skills that corporate wants -- all you need is a way to list it in terms they understand so you can prove it. Then you can put your work experience somewhere off to the side with your education.


The other issue many teachers run into is that they don't seem to know how to frame and market their many skills. Though this helpful guide is aimed at English Teachers in particular, the resources provided here will be of great value and use to many teachers struggling with this issue.


Resume Hack: Put a QR Code in Your Resume

Along with reorganizing your resume, I have another unconventional suggestion: include a QR code somewhere on your resume.


Why would I add a QR code?


With resumes, you want yours to stand out. Also, as a teacher transitioning to a new field, you want to highlight your innovation & skills. Adding in a QR code accomplishes both of these things.


When I first broke into corporate, I included a QR code on my resume that linked to to a presentation I had made on why teachers make the best IDs & trainers--and my boss’ boss said this is what got my the interview!


What should that QR code link to?

  • The options are endless:

  • A presentation on your skills

  • A video introducing yourself

  • A personal website you've made

  • Your LinkedIn page

All of these are good options... BUT! My advice is to put a QR code on your resume that links to a website and/ or portfolio of work.

What's that? Click here to read my next article in this series: Build Your Portfolio.


I know this may seem daunting, but trust me--you've got this! Now go rework that resume!

Comments


Yoga Asana

Hi, I'm Megan Blakely

  • Twitter

I'm the one who's writing this blog!

Learn. Design. Innovate.

If you are in the world of teaching, training, instructional/ curriculum designing, course architecture, EdTech, or anything education or L&D related, you've come to the right place to get a unique perspective with a foot in both worlds and over a decade of experience under my belt.

Subscribe

Thanks for submitting!

bottom of page